Sold out

The Budos Band - The Budos Band [LP]


Tracklist: A1 Up From The South 3:26A2 T.I.B.W.F. 2:40A3 Budos Theme 3:09A4 Ghost Walk 2:13A5 Monkey See, Monkey Do 6:01 B1 Sing A Simple Song 3:18B2 Eastbound 3:43B3 Aynotchesh Yererfu 3:13B4...



A1 Up From The South 3:26
A2 T.I.B.W.F. 2:40
A3 Budos Theme 3:09
A4 Ghost Walk 2:13
A5 Monkey See, Monkey Do 6:01

B1 Sing A Simple Song 3:18
B2 Eastbound 3:43
B3 Aynotchesh Yererfu 3:13
B4 King Charles 3:09
B5 The Volcano Song 2:50
B6 Across The Atlantic 3:28

The Budos Band is an instrumental band recording on the Daptone Records label. The band has nine members (with occasional guests) who play instrumental music that is self-described as "Afro-Soul," a term and sound which - in a 2007 interview - baritone saxophone player Jared Tankel elucidates as being drawn from Ethiopian music the band had been listening to that had a soul undercurrent to it, which the band then "sprinkled a little bit of sweet 60's stuff on top" of. 

Jazz, deep funk, Afro-beat, and soul influences can be heard in the Budos Band recordings, all of which were released on Daptone Records and recorded at the label's own studio, Daptone's House of Soul, in Brooklyn, New York. Though they reside in Brooklyn The Budos Band have toured most of North America, Several countries in Eastern Europe and parts of Australia.