Skip to product information
1 of 2

Incubus - S.C.I.E.N.C.E. [2LP]

Incubus - S.C.I.E.N.C.E. [2LP]


Regular price $43.00
Regular price Sale price $43.00
Sale Sold out


1 Redefine 3:20
2 Vitamin 3:13
3 New Skin 3:51
4 Idiot Box 4:07
5 Glass 3:37
6 Magic Medicine 3:03
7 A Certain Shade Of Green 3:11
8 Favorite Things 3:11
9 Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song) 4:26
10 Nebula 3:50
11 Deep Inside 3:56
12 Calgone 16:03

Listening to Incubus today, it's hard to believe they're the same band that recorded this album. That was probably done on purpose.

S.C.I.E.N.C.E. presents Incubus in a heavier, jazzier, more experimental stage of their history. Before they made it big, they made it bizarre. Before making the Top 40 rise with their songs, they made eyebrows rise with their unusual songs.
When it gets right down to it, S.C.I.E.N.C.E. is a true masterpiece in its own way. It's got basically everything a whacked-out album could have: weird guitar chords, funky basslines, versatile and exciting drums, great and unique vocals, strange musical sounds, and overall awesome talent.

Incubus prove they can hold their ground with all these elements. For example A Certain Shade of Green combines hardcore guitar riffs with odd, melodic soloing. Redefine and Vitamin are also hard-rockers but with a strong funk element and great basslines. Magic Medicine also showcases some cool drumming, sound effects and odd phrases that occasionally repeat. Then there's a personal favorite, Nebula, which combines super-heavy riffs with beautiful, surreal melody, vocals and feel.

On the other side, we get some great jazz fusion going on, from the sexy, romantic Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song) to the happy, mellow hum-a-long Deep Inside, which ironically also contains some great, metal riffs. And Mike's guitar work, along with the rest of the band's talent, shines all the way through.

So throughout the entire album, Incubus is able to combine funk, metal, jazz fusion, progressive and alternative styles into a truly unique and one-of-a-kind work of art. Lots of great experimentation, songwriting, and fun, and this album definitely a must.

View full details