Janelle Monae - The Electric Lady [2LP]


Tracklist:A1 Suite IV Electric Overture 1:37A2 Givin Em What They Love 4:26A3 Q.U.E.E.N. 5:10A4 Electric Lady 5:09A5 Good Morning Midnight 1:23B1 Primetime 4:40B2 We Were Rock & Roll 4:19B3 The Chrome...



A1 Suite IV Electric Overture 1:37
A2 Givin Em What They Love 4:26
A3 Q.U.E.E.N. 5:10
A4 Electric Lady 5:09
A5 Good Morning Midnight 1:23
B1 Primetime 4:40
B2 We Were Rock & Roll 4:19
B3 The Chrome Shoppe 1:10
B4 Dance Apocalyptic 3:25
B5 Look Into My Eyes 2:19

C1 Suite V Electric Overture 2:20
C2 It's Code 4:05
C3 Ghetto Woman 4:47
C4 Our Favorite Fugitive 1:23
C5 Victory 4:13
D1 Can't Live Without Your Love 3:54
D2 Sally Ride 4:08
D3 Dorothy Dandridge Eyes 4:16
D4 What An Experience 4:56

The Electric Lady is the second studio album by American recording artist Janelle Monáe, released on September 6, 2013 by Wondaland Arts Society and Bad Boy Records. It is the follow up to her critically acclaimed debut studio album, The ArchAndroid (2010), and like that album, it has received universal acclaim from music critics. This album serves as the fourth and fifth instalments of her seven-part Metropolis concept series. Musically, The Electric Lady incorporates influences of hip hop soul, funk, gospel, jazz and rock.

Thematically, The Electric Lady continues the dystopic cyborg concepts of its predecessors, while presenting itself in more plainspoken, personal territory in addition to experimenting with genres beyond conventional funk and soul music genres such as jazz, pop punk and gospel, as well as woozy and sensual vocal ballads. As stated on July 30, 2013, by Monáe on Twitter, The Electric Lady are the fourth and fifth suites of her Metropolis concept series. Monáe also stated in an interview with Billboard that The Electric Lady is a prequel to her critically acclaimed 2010 album The ArchAndroid.

The album features guest appearances by Miguel, Erykah Badu, Solange, Prince and Esperanza Spalding [7] with production from previous collaborator, funk duo Deep Cotton, as well as soul music composer Roman GianArthur.