Mac DeMarco - Rock And Roll Night Club [LP]


SKU: 817949014018Categories: analog, Latest Arrivals, Music, NEW PRODUCTS


1. Rock And Roll Night Club    
2. 96.7 The Pipe    
3. Baby's Wearing Blue Jeans    
4. One More Tear To Cry    
5. European Vegas   
6. Only You *
7. 106.2 Breeze FM    
8. She's Really All I Need    
9. Moving Like Mike    
10. Me And Jon, Hanging On    
11. I'm A Man 
12. Me and Mine *

Expanded Edition plus bonus tracks*

Debut release from Canadian artist & former member of Makeout Videotape, Demarco's sultry, sensual, husky-whisper voice is the star here, as it projects a warm androgynous sleaziness that's enhanced by the sexual overtones of the lyrics. The music is pop-melody driven; with gentle, but somehow slutty, tremolo guitars. It's a gorgeously depraved, hypnotically embracing album.

It resulted from a weekend in which Mac was sick and cooped up in his apartment in Canada. He made a bunch of glam/punk songs and, at some point, became dissatisfied with the results.

So he did what few musicians would have the balls to do to their own songs; he slowed them down almost 50% (or so he claims). He then redubbed the vocals to fit the new tracks.

The result was this messy-but-beautiful and sincere gem of an album. If you are a music listener who isn't willing to give a strange album a chance, you might want to back away (and perhaps find a new hobby). But, if you aren't, buy this right now.