Sold out

Menahan Street Band - The Crossing [LP]




1 The Crossing 5:04
2 Lights Out 2:35
3 Keep Coming Back 3:16
4 Three Faces 4:34
5 Sleight Of Hand 3:00
6 Everyday A Dream 3:51
7 Seven Is The Wind 5:06
8 Bullet For The Bagman 2:57
9 Driftwood 3:39
10 Ivory And Blue 3:36
11 Ivory And Blue (Reprise) 1:05

The Menahan Street Band is a Brooklyn, New York-based instrumental band formed in 2007, that plays funk and soul music. The band features musicians from Antibalas, El Michels Affair, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings and the Budos Band. The group was founded by Thomas Brenneck while living in an apartment on Menahan St. in the Brooklyn neighborhood of Bushwick. Their debut album, Make the Road by Walking, was released in 2008 on Dunham, a sublabel of Daptone Records.

Various songs from Make the Road by Walking have been sampled by hip hop artists, including the title track, which was sampled by Jay-Z on the track "Roc Boys (And the Winner Is)...", "Going The Distance", which was sampled by Kid Cudi on his song "Solo Dolo Pt.II" featuring Kendrick Lamar on Cudi's third studio album Indicud, and "The Traitor," sampled by 50 Cent on his mixtape War Angel LP and by Cudi on his debut album Man on the Moon: The End of Day. In addition, the song "Tired of Fighting" is used as a primary sample in Kendrick Lamar's "Faith" from his eponymous 2009 EP.