Sold out

Muddy Waters - The Best Of Muddy Waters [LP]




A1 I Just Want To Make Love To You 2:50
A2 Long Distance Call 2:39
A3 Louisiana Blues 2:52
A4 Honey Bee 3:20
A5 Rollin' Stone 3:05
A6 I'm Ready 3:02
B1 Hoochie Coochie 2:49
B2 She Moves Me 2:55
B3 I Want You To Love Me 3:01
B4 Standing Around Crying 3:19
B5 Still A Fool 3:12
B6 I Can't Be Satisfied 2:41

This is a reissue of the late 1950s lp collecting Muddy's best early sides, 10 from 1947-51, 2 from 1954. It's the way people heard Muddy's classic stuff in the 1960s.

About the sound: all these tracks (or almost all) come from 78s and 45s that reflect the way this music was originally heard. There are some clicks and pops and even some distortion. But if you compare tracks like Honey Bee you hear power in Muddy's voice and sting in the guitar that aren't in the more recent issue (haven't heard the Chess box). The more recent issue has clearly used some noise reduction and compression, and while it's not bad enough to ruin the music, some of the life and edge has been burnished off of this truly elemental music.