Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way [2LP]


Tracklist: 1. By The Way 2. Universally Speaking 3. This Is The Place 4. Dosed  5. Don't Forget Me   6. The Zephyr Song    7. Can't Stop   8. I Could Die For You  9. Midnight   10. Throw Away Your Television  11. Cabron  12....



1. By The Way 
2. Universally Speaking 
3. This Is The Place 
4. Dosed  
5. Don't Forget Me   
6. The Zephyr Song    
7. Can't Stop   
8. I Could Die For You  
9. Midnight   
10. Throw Away Your Television  
11. Cabron  
12. Tear   
13. On Mercury  
14. Minor Thing  
15. Warm Tape    
16. Venice Queen

By the Way is, undeniably, a stellar album, representing yet another tremendous offering from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. It easily equates its predecessor, Californication, in terms of its accessibility and the consistency with which it displays quality musicianship and meaningful lyrics. As always, Anthony Keidis' wonderfully unique vocals are complemented expertly by Flea's mastery of the bass guitar, Fruisciante's great guitar performances and Chad Smith's rhythmic drum beats. It is understandable, then, that, in a similar vein to Californication, all 16 of the album's tracks are excellent, and are not let down by any pointless filler' tracks.

However, the Chili Peppers appear to have significantly stretched their musical boundaries since Californication, as By the Way manages to encapsulate an earnestness and emotiveness that the band has rarely revealed to its legion of fans. While the album retains the band's raw edge, especially through hard-hitting songs such as catchy first single By the Way and the bittersweet funk tune Can't Stop, it also introduces a wealth of songs based around beautiful vocal harmonies and soaring melodies. Moving ballad I Could Die For You illustrates this point perfectly, as it stands as among the most beautiful three minutes in the Chili Peppers' recording history. Thankfully, the band has definitely not transformed into a soppy, dull, Train-esque rock act. Even the album's most tender moments either maintain a degree of intensity or are balanced out by more unrefined moments, such as those involving rapping and chanting. For instance, the juxtaposition of Keidis' aggressive rapping with moving vocal harmonies in Minor Thing culminates in an aurally appealing contrast.

All in all, highly recommended. This, is a good album. Really good.