Sold out

Silversun Pickups - Swoon [LP]




1. There's No Secrets This Year 
2. The Royal We 
3. Growing Old Is Getting Old 
4. It's Nice To Know You Work Alone 
5. Panic Switch 
6. Draining 
7. Sort Of 
8. Substitution 
9. Catch And Release 
10. Surrounded (Or Spiraling)

Few indie bands have made quite the same kind of impact in only a few short years as the Silversun Pickups.

Even if they are hearkening back to some grungy elements of the '90s, the Pickups bring enough fresh talent and themes to the table to make them a musically legitimate powerhouse.

The closest genre you could classify The Pickups would be shoegaze.

Named to describe bands like My Bloody Valentine and several others in the late '80s, the term comes from describing how the bands typically performed in a detached, almost bored manner. For such loud distorted guitar rock, it was odd to watch a band basically stand on stage "gazing at their shoes."

After initially getting your ears blasted with multiple layers of overdriven guitars on their first album "Carnavas," you will immediately notice the otherworldly voice of Brian Aubert. The signature vocal effects of his voice construct a strange childlike sound worthy of being a unique instrument on its own. One moment the song may lead you through a sweet, almost feminine voice, then a gut-wrenching scream during a chorus cuts through to deliver the real emotion.

Panic Switch (that Sucker Punch trailer) and the recently released Substitution are the first two singles off the album and encapsulate very specific, yet relatable moods.

The Silversun Pickups truly need to be experienced, because you might miss something if you simply give them a casual listen.