Sold out

Various Artists - Sixties Soul Classics: Harlem Shuffle [LP]


Tracklist: 1. Bob & Earl Harlem Shuffle    2. Barbara Lewis Hello Stranger    3. Shades Of Blue (3) Oh How Happy    4. Brenton Wood Oogum Boogum Song    5. The Olympics The Bounce    6. Mel & Tim Backfield In Motion    7. Barbara Lewis Make Me...



1. Bob & Earl Harlem Shuffle    
2. Barbara Lewis Hello Stranger    
3. Shades Of Blue (3) Oh How Happy    
4. Brenton Wood Oogum Boogum Song    
5. The Olympics The Bounce    
6. Mel & Tim Backfield In Motion    
7. Barbara Lewis Make Me Your Baby    
8. Gene Allison You Can Make It If You Try    
9. Brenton Wood Gimme Little Sign    
10. The Olympics Dancin' Holiday    
11. Deon Jackson Love Makes The World Go Round    
12. Bird Legs & Pauline* Spring    
13. Soul Survivors Expressway To Your Heart    
14. Fred Hughes Oo Wee Baby I Love You    
15. Barbara Lewis Baby I'm Yours    
16. The Capitols Cool Jerk

The title suggests Harlem Shuffle features only upbeat, dancers from the 60's. But a closer look reveals a mixture of fast, ballads, and mid tempo numbers. Bob & Earl's "Harlem Shuffle," and "Backfield In Motion," by Mel & Tim exemplifies soulful mid-tempo grooves with sliding beats. The Soul Survivors' "Expressway To Your Heart," the Capitols' "Cool Jerk," and "Dancin' Holiday," by the Olympics are speed demons. "Hello Stranger," by Barbara Lewis, "Oh How Happy," by the Shades of Blue, and Deon Jackson's "Love Make the World Go Round" represent the sweetness of the soul ballad. You get Brenton Woods' two biggest singles: "Oogum Boogum Song," and "Gimme a Little Sign." And check out Fred Hughes' "Oo Wee Baby I Love You"; Hughes sounds like Eddie Holland, the Motown singer turned Hall-of-Fame Songwriter. Sixteen songs in all and not a loser in the bunch.