Sold out


A1 100% 2:28
A2 Swimsuit Issue 2:57
A3 Theresa's Sound-World 5:27
A4 Drunken Butterfly 3:03
B1 Shoot 5:16
B2 Wish Fulfillment 3:24
B3 Sugar Kane 5:56
B4 Orange Rolls, Angel's Spit 4:17

C1 Youth Against Fascism 3:36
C2 Nic Fit 0:59
C3 On The Strip 5:41
C4 Chapel Hill 4:46
D1 Stalker 2:59
D2 JC 4:01
D3 Purr 4:21
D4 Créme Brûlèe 2:33

Dirty is the seventh studio album by American alternative rock band Sonic Youth. It was released on July 21, 1992 by record label DGC. The band recorded and produced the album with Butch Vig in early 1992 at The Magic Shop studios. The sound on Dirty was inspired by the grunge scene of the time, and was described as avant-rock. Some songs on the album mark the first appearance of three guitars in Sonic Youth songs. The album was remastered and released on quadruple vinyl and double CD in 2003.

The album spawned four singles. The first single was "100%", but it was not the crossover hit the label anticipated. Geffen Record executive Mark Kates admitted the single "was not a great radio song", however, the single did chart well. The next was "Youth Against Fascism", which did not chart well. The last two were "Sugar Kane" and "Drunken Butterfly", released in 1993. "Sugar Kane" did better commercially than "Youth Against Fascism". The album sold exceptionally well, reaching No. 6 in the UK Albums Chart (their highest charting album in the UK) and No. 83 in the US.

In support of the album, the band embarked on the "Pretty Fucking Dirty" tour of 1992 and 1993, where most of Dirty was played. In late 1992, they toured North America, and in early 1993, they toured New Zealand and Australia and released the Whores Moaning EP, which featured most of the "Sugar Kane" B-sides.

Dirty was generally well-received by critics. AllMusic called it "a damn good rock album, and on those terms it ranks with Sonic Youth's best work." Entertainment Weekly praised the album, calling it "possibly the finest hour (59 minutes, actually) from this New York noise & roll band. It is also much-needed proof that the old-fangled concept of a rock guitar band can still result in vital, undeniably moving music", and ending the review with, "At this point, every other rock & roll album that visits our planet this year will have a hard time topping [Dirty] . "Rolling Stone opined that Dirty "easily ranks with Daydream Nation and Sister" as "the band's most unified and unforgettable recorded works. "