Sugarman 3 - Sugar's Boogaloo [LP]




A1 Sugar's Boogaloo
A2 Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
A3 Sock Monkey
A4 Sunshine Superman
A5 Skunk Walk
B1 Suzy Q
B2 Sweet Tooth
B3 Red Wine
B4 Hot Sauce
B5 Hankerin'

Sugar's Boogaloo, was the Sugarman Three's debut album. Since it's initial release on Desco Records nearly ten years ago, it has grown to be a sought after classic among funk, soul, and organ-jazz enthusiasts.

The music is primarily driven by groove and rhythm, with Neal Sugarman's melodic, R&B-based saxophone providing most of the leads. Sugarman's playing stays solidly within the groove, so jazz fans looking for improvisational fireworks will probably not find Sugar's Boogaloo as interesting as the artists who influenced it. But fans of earthy, greasy jazz-funk and rare groove will delight in the fact that this music is being revived and in such danceable, soulful fashion.