Sold out

The Raconteurs - Broken Boy Soldiers [LP]




1. Steady, As She Goes
2. Hands
3. Broken Boy Soldier
4. Intimate Secretary
5. Together
6. Level
7. Store Bought Bone
8. Yellow Sun
9. Call It a Day
10. Blue Veins

Broken Boy Soldiers is the debut album by American rock band The Raconteurs, released on May 15, 2006 in the United Kingdom and May 16, 2006 in the United States. The album was generally favored among critics and spawned the hit single Steady, As She Goes. The album earned a nomination for Best Rock Album at the 49th Grammy Awards.

The songs were written by Brendan Benson and Jack White. Steady, As She Goes was the first song the pair worked on, followed by Broken Boy Soldier. After the completion of these two songs and their demos, they called in Jack Lawrence and Patrick Keeler to work on the songs.

In an interview with Uncut magazine White said that Store Bought Bones originated from an outtake of The White Stripes album, Get Behind Me Satan. In the same interview, Benson also said that Call It a Day and Together were both songs he was working on for his next solo album.

Benson said in an interview with Mojo magazine that the album feels like a demo because of how the band plays the songs live now. Hands features an outro heavily influenced by AC/DC's Back in Black, Call It a Day has been sped up (found on the Zane Lowe EP), Store Bought Bones has been merged with B-side The Bane Rendition, and many other changes.

The cover was photographed by Autumn de Wilde and designed by Patrick Keeler and Aleksey Shirokov.