Various Artists - Stax Of Funk Vol. 2: More Funky Truth [2LP]


1. Shame On The Family Name - Calvin Scott
2. Cool Strut - Bernie Hayes
3. Soul Machine - Reggie Milner
4. Bump Meat - Sir Mack Rice
5. Got It Together - Rudy Robinson
6. Big Leg Woman - C A Warren Players
7. Dirty Tricks - The Sweet Inspiration
8. How Can You Mistreat the One You Love - Katie Love
9. From Toys To Boys - The Emotions
10. Circuits Overloaded - Inez Foxx
11. Brand New Day - The Staple Singers
12. Cold Blooded - The Bar Kaays
13. Talking To The People - Black Nasty
14. Bump And Boogie - Wrecking Crew
15. Dark Skin Woman - Sir Mack Rice
16. Ain't No Sin - Jhn Kasandra
17. Do The Side Saddke - Rufus Thomas
18. Stay Away From That Monkey - Jimmy McCracklin
19. Crosscut Saw - Albert King
20. Them Hot Pants - Lee Sain
21. Devil In A Man - Stu Gardner

This 21-track collection focuses on some of the more obscure and funk-oriented music Stax put out in the first half of the 1970s. There are a few big names here and there.

Anyway this compilation is not really about those big names, although several of them are featured. Mainly the artists here are from the second rank of Stax artists - those who attempted a breakthrough but didn't quite make it, at least not when they were at the Memphis powerhouse.